American Council of Academic Plastic Surgeons
Home | Committees | Events | Contact Us

6th Annual ACAPS Winter Retreat

ACAPS ACAPS Winter Retreat
February 9-10, 2019
Sheraton Austin Hotel at the Capitol
Preliminary Program
All Sessions in Capitol D Ballroom Unless Otherwise Noted
7:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Capitol D Foyer
7:30 AM - 8:00 AM
Capitol Ballroom A-C
8:00 AM - 8:10 AM
Welcome and Review of Schedule
Arun K. Gosain, MD
Lurie Children's Hospital, Chicago, IL

Michael A. Harrington, MD, MPH
University of South Florida, Tampa, FL
8:10 AM - 8:30 AM
ABPS Report
Joseph E. Losee, MD, FACS, FAAP
Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA
8:30 AM - 8:45 AM
RRC Report
Michael W. Neumeister, MD
SIU Medicine, Springfield, IL
8:45 AM - 9:30 AM
ACGME Progress: Plastic Surgery Residency Requirements
Michael W. Neumeister, MD
SIU Medicine, Springfield, IL

Donna L. Lamb, DHSc, MBA, BSN
Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education, Chicago, IL
9:30 AM - 9:45 AM
Coffee Break
9:45 AM - 11:30 AM
Panel I: Fellowship Training as an Adjunct to Core Training in Plastic Surgery
Moderator: Arun K. Gosain, MD
Panelists: Vu T. Nguyen, MD
Michael A. Harrington, MD, MPH
Amanda Zimmerman, MD
Chad A. Purnell, MD
Francesco M. Egro, MBChB
Joesph E. Losee, MD
Robert A. Weber, MD
Donald R. Mackay, MD
Robert E. Harbaugh, MD
11:30 AM - 12:00 PM
Discussion Relevance of Fellowship Training: Pros and Cons
12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
The sideYARD
1:00 PM - 1:30 PM
Goldwyn Address
James E. Zins, MD
Cleveland Clinic, Cleveland, OH
1:30 PM - 2:30 PM
Panel II: Accreditation of Fellowships
Moderator: Joseph K. Williams, MD
Panelists: Steven R. Buchman, MD
Craig Birgfeld, MD
S. Anthony Wolfe, MD
2:30 PM - 3:30 PM
Panel III: Certification of Fellows upon Fellowship Completion
Moderator: Keith Brandt, MD
Panelists: Brian Nussenbaum, MD, MHCM
John R. Potts III, MD
Mira Irons, MD
3:30 PM - 3:45 PM
Questions and Discussion
3:45 PM - 4:00 PM
Coffee Break
4:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Paper Session I
Adeyiza O. Momoh, MD
University of Michigan Health System, Ann Arbor, MI
6:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Welcome Reception
The backYARD

7:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Capitol D Foyer
7:30 AM - 8:00 AM
Capitol Ballroom A-C
8:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Fellowship Interactive Stations


Michael W. Neumeister, MD; M. Lance Tavana, MD; Matthew E. Hiro, MD

Edward H. Davidson, MD; Brian Kellogg, MD; Raymond Harshbarger, MD

Nicholas J. Panetta, MD; David W. Chang, MD, FACS

James E. Zins, MD; Mohammed Alghoul, MD

Potential Future Fellowships (Breast/Burn/Global Health)
Anaja K. Antong, MD; C. Scott Hultman, MD; Amanda A. Gosman, MD

Subspeciality Training Within Core Plastic Surgery Residency
Donald R. Mackay, MD; Michael A. Harrington, MD; Lauren Connor, MD
11:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Paper Session II
Robert A. Weber, MD
Baylor Scott & White Health, Temple, TX
12:00 PM
Home | Members' Corner | Events | Job Search | Contact Us