In 2012 the American Council of Academic Plastic Surgeons (ACAPS) inaugurated the Robert Goldwyn ACAPS Mentor of the Year Award. The award was proposed by the 2011-2012 ACAPS President, Dr. Joseph Serletti, and is issued during the ACAPS programming component of the American Association of Plastic Surgeons (AAPS) annual meeting every spring. Dr. Goldwyn was a tremendous mentor to many plastic surgeons and ACAPS wanted to recognize his mentoring and inspiration through this annual award. The recipient of the award is an ACAPS member who has contributed significantly to the development of ethical, compassionate and academically productive surgeons for the next generation. The original intent was for the recipient of this award to visit 2 or 3 programs as a visiting professor and industry funding is secured annually to support the travel expenses for this visiting professorship.


2012 Paul N. Manson, MD
2013 J. William Futrell, MD
2014 Julian Pribaz, MD
2015 Joseph G. McCarthy, MD
2016 Raymond F. Morgan, MD
2017 Joseph M. Serletti, MD
2018 James E. Zins, MD
2019 Linda G. Phillips, MD