ACAPS has set forth a policy that all integrated plastic surgery programs will coordinate when they announce interview dates and distribute interview invitations. The purpose of this is to improve the efficiency of scheduling for applicants and programs. Advanced planning is intended to help applicants better plan for travel and to minimize cancellation and rescheduling of interviews.

Please note that the following policies pertain ONLY to the first round of interview invitations. ACAPS does not have a policy in place for the distribution of interview invitations after the first round.

Interview Dates:
A public calendar will be maintained through ACAPS to organize the process of identifying and selecting interview dates. This calendar can be viewed by programs and applicants. Programs are strongly encouraged to enter their interview dates on the site as soon as possible or by the deadline of September 16. (http://acaplasticsurgeons.org/interview-dates)

I. Extending Interview Invitations:
Feedback from previous years made it clear that students felt they were being taken away from rotations or classes on Monday morning to submit responses, and Program Coordinators were not receiving all responses in a timely manner. As a result, we are requesting that students submit their responses by 9PM on Sunday evening so that Program Coordinators can start scheduling with all responses received on Monday morning.

Programs must ONLY offer the first round of interview invitations on Thursday, November 10, 2022

  1. PROGRAM:
    1. Interview invitations must be sent to applicants between the hours of 8:00am and 12:00pm Pacific Time / 9:00 am 1:00pm Mountain Time / 10:00am 2:00pm Central Time / 11:00am 3:00pm Eastern Time.
    2. Programs must not extend more invitations than there are interview slots.
    3. Programs that manually schedule interviews should make it clear in the invitation that applicants should respond before Sunday, November 13 at 9PM PST.
    4. Programs that use scheduling software should specify so in their invitation and refrain from sending scheduling links to invited applicants until Monday, November 14 at 8AM PST.
    5. Interview scheduling by programs must not start before Monday, November 14 at 8AM PST for both manual and scheduling software.
  2. APPLICANT:
    1. Interview invitations should be received after the hours noted above (I.A.1).
    2. If you received an interview invitation, you are guaranteed an interview slot as long as you respond by the deadline stated in the invitation. Please be aware that you may not get your preferred date or time.
    3. Interviewees must submit a response accepting the interview offer before Sunday, November 13 at 9PM PST.

II. Accepting Interview Invitations:
The acceptance date set forth in the ACAPS policy is Monday, November 14, 2022.

  1. APPLICANT:
    1. Interview invitations should be received between the hours noted above (I.A.1).
    2. If you received an interview invitation, you are guaranteed an interview slot as long as you respond by the deadline stated in the invitation. You are not guaranteed your preferred date or time.
    3. For programs who manually schedule: Invited applicants may begin responding to the first round of invitations starting at 8:00am Pacific / 9:00am Mountain / 10:00am Central / 11:00am Eastern on Friday, November 11, 2022, and must respond by Sunday, November 13 at 9PM PST.
    4. For programs who use scheduling software: Invited applicants should schedule their interviews when they receive their scheduling link on Monday, November 14 at 8AM PST.
    5. You should not receive confirmation of an interview or a scheduling link prior to Monday, November 14, 2022 at 8AM PST. Early confirmation from a program who manually schedules, and early scheduling link from a program who uses scheduling software is a violation of this policy. Applicants are encouraged to notify ACAPS of violations by emailing admin@acaplasticsurgeons.org.
  2. PROGRAM:
    1. For programs who manually schedule: Invited applicants may begin responding to the first round of invitations starting at 8:00am Pacific / 9:00am Mountain / 10:00am Central / 11:00am Eastern on Friday, November 11, 2022, and must respond by Sunday, November 13 at 9PM PST.
    2. For programs who use scheduling software: Applicants must not be sent a link to schedule their interviews prior to Monday, November 14 at 8AM PST.
    3. Invited applicants in the first round MUST NOT BE CONFIRMED for their interview prior to 8:00am Pacific / 9:00am Mountain / 10:00am Central / 11:00am Eastern on Monday, November 14, 2022.